Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Website
Search the Internet
About Us My Account Contact Us

History Fair Help

History Fair Resources

Metro Chicago History Fair

Chicago History Museum History Fair page

Illinois State History Fair

National History Day website

Evanston Library History Fair Pathfinder

Chicago Public Library History Fair Pathfinder

National Archives in Chicago

Resource guide to Chicago historical collections and institutions

Primary sources for Chicago history

How to find a topic for your project

How to pick a topic

Topic ideas

Student Handbook

How to create a History Fair entry

How to create a History Fair webpage

How to create a History Fair exhibit

Chicago History Museum History Fair Bibliographies

Online History Resources

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers

National History Day Research Central

Encyclopedia of Chicago

CARLI Digital Collections

Illinois Digital Archives

Illinois Periodicals Online

Foreign Language Press Service (translations from foreign language Chicago newspapers from 1855 to 1938)

University of Illinois at Chicago Online Collections

Chicago Public Library Chicago History page

UNCAP (Uncovering Chicago Archives Project)

Chicago Collections Consortium

Proceedings of the Chicago City Council, 1865-1963

Homicide in Chicago Database (1870—1930)

Mapping the Stacks: A Guide to Chicago’s Hidden Black Archives

Online Books

Chicago Collections Consortium

Internet Archives

Google Books (also includes magazines)

Project Gutenberg

Hathi Trust Digital Library

Elephanthind (historic newspapers)

Chicago History Museum Online Resources

Pictures and Maps

UIC Chicago Image Database

UIC Library, Digital Collections

Library of Congress American Memory Collection

University of Chicago Photographic Archive

Chicago Past: Photographs

Art Institute of Chicago, Ryerson & Burnham Archives Images

Chuckman Chicago Nostalgia (old photos and postcards)

Newberry Library Chicago & Midwest History

University of Chicago Maps Collection

Chicago in Maps

Library Databases

JSTOR (articles, books, primary sources)

Newspaper Archive

Chicago Tribune Archive

Chicago Tribune Historical

Fold3 (primary documents and newspapers)

GenealogyBank (includes obituaries, newspapers and government documents)

Gale Virtual Reference Library (good for background information)