Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Website
Search the Internet
About Us My Account Contact Us
 

Homework & Test Prep

 

Visit the KidsZone Homework Help Page
View our English Language Learning Resources


Homework Help
  • Live homework help for math, science, English, social studies and adult learning.
  • Get expert writing assistance and feedback.
  • Practice school skills and take practice tests for SAT, ACT, AP, GED and US Citizenship.
  • Tutors are available from 2:00 to 9:00 p.m., seven days a week. All materials and help are offered in English and Spanish.
  • In-depth courses led by instructors on business, technology, health care training, career skills, test prep, personal development and more.
  • Six-week sessions begin every month, generally on the third Wednesday of the month.
  • Available for STDL cardholders only
  • Hundreds of reference books accessible from any computer
  • Covers art, history, business, legal, medicine, science and other topics
  • Translates into 11 languages
  • ReadSpeaker technology allows text to be read aloud or downloaded to MP3 format
  • How to find a topic for your project
  • Online History Resources
  • Pictures and Maps
  • Other Library Databases to investigate
Categories: History | Homework Help
  • Math practice for grades pre-K through eight
  • Complete up to 20 questions each day
Categories: Homework Help
  • Over 2,700 educational videos and 306 practice exercises covering math, science, and history
Categories: Homework Help
  • Learn technology and career skills with video tutorials from Lynda.com
  • Courses on software (Word, Excel, Photoshop, etc.), coding and web design, multimedia production, photography, business management, social media, and more.
  • Available for STDL cardholders only
  • Free MAP Math Practice
Categories: Homework Help
Categories: Homework Help
  • Help with basic math - addition, subtraction, multiplication, and division
  • Interactive games, videos, tutorials, contests, and virtual labs
Categories: Homework Help
  • Research multiple perspectives on controversial social issues
  • Includes source citations for further research
Categories: Homework Help
  • Try Artemis Literary Sources to search this and several other databases at once
  • Biographies of children's authors and illustrators
  • Includes personal life, career, writings and additional information
  • Animated, talking picture books for young children
  • Includes read-alongs, puzzles and quizzes, fiction and non-fiction
  • Generates answers to math questions and problems
  • Interactive games, videos, contests, and virtual labs
Categories: Homework Help
  • Online research from World Book Encyclopedia
  • Encyclopedia and periodical articles, videos, animations, maps and links
Categories: Homework Help
Back to top
Test Preparation
  • Live homework help for math, science, English, social studies and adult learning.
  • Get expert writing assistance and feedback.
  • Practice school skills and take practice tests for SAT, ACT, AP, GED and US Citizenship.
  • Tutors are available from 2:00 to 9:00 p.m., seven days a week. All materials and help are offered in English and Spanish.
  • Free practice tests for the Illinois written driver's license exam
  • Also includes motorcycle and CDL practice tests and official Illinois driver handbooks
  • Hundreds of reference books accessible from any computer
  • Covers art, history, business, legal, medicine, science and other topics
  • Translates into 11 languages
  • ReadSpeaker technology allows text to be read aloud or downloaded to MP3 format
Back to top
Language Learning & ESL
  • Learn French, Spanish, Greek, Chinese, German, Italian, Portuguese, and other languages
  • Free audio and video courses for beginners and intermediate learners
  • For ESL (English as a Second Language) students
  • Register and create a username and password during first use
  • Works best with Internet Explorer
  • Step-by-step language lessons
  • Lessons in more than 50 languages, including Spanish, Chinese, French, Arabic and German
  • ESL lessons for Korean, Spanish, German and Chinese speakers
  • Includes ESL lessons for 17 different languages
Back to top