Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Website
Search the Internet
About Us My Account Contact Us
 

Magazines & Newspapers

 

Magazine & Journal Articles

  • Full text for more than 4,600 multi-disciplinary journals
  • Table of contents pages from scholarly journals
  • Not full text
  • Contact the Information Desk about Interlibrary Loan options, 847-923-3347
  • Full text articles from more than 1,300 business journals
  • Access over 2200 market research reports
  • Thousands of company & industry profiles
  • Country economic reports
  • Product reviews and ratings
  • General buying advice
  • Prices and ratings for consumer services in the Chicago area
  • Index of more than 5,000 academic and professional journals
  • Articles and documents on education
  • Includes papers, reports and other education-related materials
  • Read digital magazines online or download to your tablet with the Flipster app
  • Titles include People, Time, InStyle, and more
  • Comprehensive coverage of the humanities
  • Full text of journals, books and other published sources from around the world
  • Unique content not found in other databases
  • Full text issues of Illinois magazines/journals
  • Titles include: Illinois Country Living, Illinois Heritage, Illinois History, Illinois Issues, Illinois Libraries, Illinois Municipal Review, Illinois Parks & Recreation, and Outdoor Illinois
  • Major scholarly journals and publications in many academic fields
  • Includes over a million images, letters, and primary sources
  • Limited to articles more than 3 to 5 years old
  • Covers general reference, business, health, science & other areas
  • Full text for nearly 1,700 periodicals
  • Full-text articles for elementary school research back to 1990
  • Articles are assigned a reading level (Lexile) indicator
  • Full text coverage for nearly 560 journals
  • Topics include emotion, behavior, mental processes, anthropology, and experimental methods
  • Comprehensive social science research database
  • Full text for journals, books, and conference papers
  • Information and opinions on today’s hottest social issues
  • Includes periodicals, biographies, polls, reviews, pamphlets, and government documents
  • Full text for over 60,000 articles
  • Read digital magazines online or download to your mobile with the Zinio app
  • Dozens of titles to choose from, including Us Weekly, Bloomberg Businessweek, Men's Health, Cosmopolitan, Chicago Magazine, and National Geographic
  • For STDL cardholders only
Back to top
Newspapers
  • Full text newspapers from the 1980s to the present
  • Includes the Chicago Sun-Times, Daily Herald, Crain's Chicago Business and many other local and national papers
  • More than 29 million obituary listings
  • Consolidated from hundreds of U.S. newspapers
Categories: Genealogy | Newspapers
  • Clippings of major local, national and international news from the past 150 years
  • Obituaries and death notices from 1860 to 1984
  • Front pages from 1900 to 1984
Categories: Genealogy | History | Newspapers
  • Search for articles from 1985 to the present
  • Search subjects, people, and company names
Categories: Newspapers
  • Full text articles from 1849 - 1991
  • Search by type of article or by subject, person, and company names
Categories: Genealogy | Newspapers
  • Archive with over 300 years of fully-searchable historical newspapers
  • From small towns and big cities in the U.S.
  • Find articles, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, sports stats, photographs, ads and more
Categories: Genealogy | Newspapers
  • Legal research sources including Federal and state statutes and court decisions
  • Full-text news articles, including Crain's publications, New York Times, broadcast transcripts, and blogs
  • Business directory features more than 80 million U.S. and international companies
  • Note: legal research is for library use only
  • Articles from 1851 to 2010
  • Search and browse subjects, people, and company names
Categories: Genealogy | History | Newspapers
  • Search more than 5,000 newspapers published over 400 years
  • Local, national and international newspapers
  • Includes the Daily Herald (1901 -2009) and Chicago Daily News (1879-1945)
Categories: Genealogy | History | Newspapers
  • Full text for 45 national & international newspapers
  • Selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers
  • Full text of television & radio news transcripts
Categories: Newspapers
  • Full text of more than 80 regional business publications
  • Includes Crain's business papers
  • Also includes international publications
Back to top