Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Website
Search the Internet
About Us My Account Contact Us
 

History & Genealogy

 

Biography
  • Research people in the news and in history
  • Full-text articles and images from newspapers, magazines, and journals
  • For more biographies, try Biography Reference Center below
Categories: Biography | Homework Help
  • Research current and historical figures, including world leaders, scientists, actors, artists, athletes, authors, and more
  • Search for people by categories, including occupation or nationality
  • Find detailed or concise biographies, interviews, obituaries, and images
Categories: Biography | Homework Help
  • Try Artemis Literary Sources to search this and several other databases at once
  • More than 16,000 essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures
  • Try Artemis Literary Sources to search this and several other databases at once
  • Comprehensive resource for research on literature and authors
  • Full-text, scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals
  • Biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors
  • Try Artemis Literary Sources to search this and several other databases at once
  • Biographies of children's authors and illustrators
  • Includes personal life, career, writings and additional information
  • Online research from World Book Encyclopedia
  • Encyclopedia and periodical articles, videos, animations, maps and links
Back to top
History
  • Clippings of major local, national and international news from the past 150 years
  • Obituaries and death notices from 1860 to 1984
  • Front pages from 1900 to 1984
Categories: Genealogy | History | Newspapers
  • Worldwide eBook index featuring more than 165,000 titles
  • Links to free and paid access from commercial and non-commercial publishers
  • Subjects include literature, history, science, medicine, and more
  • Previously known as Footnote
  • Primary documents from the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, and U.S. Presidents
  • Also includes historical newspapers and naturalization documents
  • Search by keyword and person or browse by category
Categories: Genealogy | History
  • Hundreds of reference books accessible from any computer
  • Covers art, history, business, legal, medicine, science and other topics
  • Translates into 11 languages
  • ReadSpeaker technology allows text to be read aloud or downloaded to MP3 format
  • How to find a topic for your project
  • Online History Resources
  • Pictures and Maps
  • Other Library Databases to investigate
Categories: History | Homework Help
  • U.S. and world history from primary sources and reference documents
  • Many articles are full text with photos, illustrations, and maps
Categories: History
  • Articles from 1851 to 2010
  • Search and browse subjects, people, and company names
Categories: Genealogy | History | Newspapers
  • Search more than 5,000 newspapers published over 400 years
  • Local, national and international newspapers
  • Includes the Daily Herald (1901 -2009) and Chicago Daily News (1879-1945)
Categories: Genealogy | History | Newspapers
  • Online research from World Book Encyclopedia
  • Encyclopedia and periodical articles, videos, animations, maps and links
Back to top
Genealogy
  • More than 29 million obituary listings
  • Consolidated from hundreds of U.S. newspapers
Categories: Genealogy | Newspapers
American Ancestors
Library Use Only
  • Search records covering New York, New England, and beyond dating to the 1500s
  • Includes vital records, town records, tax and voter lists, census records, military records, immigration records, diaries, research periodicals, and more
  • From the New England Historic Genealogical Society
Categories: Genealogy
Ancestry Library Edition
Library Use Only
  • Search billions of records by first name, surname and/or place
  • Sources include censuses, vital records, passenger lists, family histories, city directories, legal documents, military records and more
Categories: Genealogy
  • Clippings of major local, national and international news from the past 150 years
  • Obituaries and death notices from 1860 to 1984
  • Front pages from 1900 to 1984
Categories: Genealogy | History | Newspapers
  • Full text articles from 1849 - 1991
  • Search by type of article or by subject, person, and company names
Categories: Genealogy | Newspapers
  • Noncertified versions of birth, death and marriage certificates
  • Records date from 1872 for Chicago and Cook County
  • From the Genealogical Unit of the Cook County Clerk's Bureau of Vital Records
Categories: Genealogy
  • Find, organize, and share information about your ancestors
  • Includes civil registration records; church records; and probate, census, land, tax, and military records
  • Contains family histories, clan and lineage genealogies, oral pedigrees, and local histories
Categories: Genealogy
  • Previously known as Footnote
  • Primary documents from the Revolutionary War, Civil War, WWI, WWII, and U.S. Presidents
  • Also includes historical newspapers and naturalization documents
  • Search by keyword and person or browse by category
Categories: Genealogy | History
  • Archive with over 300 years of fully-searchable historical newspapers
  • From small towns and big cities in the U.S.
  • Find articles, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, sports stats, photographs, ads and more
Categories: Genealogy | Newspapers
  • Search Federal Census, digitized family and local history books, and PERSI--an index to genealogical and local history periodicals
  • Also includes Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files and the Freedman’s Bank Records, 1865-1874
Categories: Genealogy
  • Articles from 1851 to 2010
  • Search and browse subjects, people, and company names
Categories: Genealogy | History | Newspapers
  • Search more than 5,000 newspapers published over 400 years
  • Local, national and international newspapers
  • Includes the Daily Herald (1901 -2009) and Chicago Daily News (1879-1945)
Categories: Genealogy | History | Newspapers
Back to top