Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Catalog
Search the Library Website
Search the Internet
About Us My Account Contact Us
 

Business

 

Visit our Business Center
Visit our Small Business Start-Up Center


Business Articles & Research
  • Full text newspapers from the 1980s to the present
  • Includes the Chicago Sun-Times, Daily Herald, Crain's Chicago Business and many other local and national papers
  • Actual business plans from North American entrepreneurs
  • Hundreds of plans from a variety of businesses
  • Business plan template included
  • Full text articles from more than 1,300 business journals
  • Access over 2200 market research reports
  • Thousands of company & industry profiles
  • Country economic reports
  • Conduct basic background checks on individuals and businesses in northern Illinois
  • Find public records of real estate transactions, business licenses, bankruptcies, foreclosures, and arrests
  • Hundreds of reference books accessible from any computer
  • Covers art, history, business, legal, medicine, science and other topics
  • Translates into 11 languages
  • ReadSpeaker technology allows text to be read aloud or downloaded to MP3 format
  • Full text of more than 80 regional business publications
  • Includes Crain's business papers
  • Also includes international publications
Back to top
Business Directories
  • Listing over 456,000 trade, professional and other organizations
  • Search by name, acronym, keyword, subject, and location
  • IRS data on nonprofits
  • Contains organization materials like logos and brochures
  • Nearly 850,000 parent and subsidiary businesses worldwide
  • In-depth details on directors and executives
  • Includes corporate linkage and company profiles
  • Search company name availability in Illinois
  • Determine whether a business is active
  • Verify authenticity of Certificate of Good Standing
  • Database of technology companies, people, and investors
  • Anyone can edit the database, like Wikipedia
  • 14 million public and private U.S. companies
  • 7 million international companies in 200 countries
  • Search by company name or select criteria and build a custom list
  • Includes executive biographies
  • Find sales leads, evaluate local markets, learn about your customers, and find businesses and people by name
  • Build and export custom lists based on geography or business/household types
  • Research population, housing, economic, and geographic Census data
  • Create a custom demographic market report with your own customer data
  • International directory of radio and television stations, cable companies, magazines, and newspapers
  • Includes addresses, phone numbers, key personnel, email addresses, and more
  • Comprehensive source for detailed information concerning nonprofit, American membership organizations of national scope
  • More than 23,000 organizations in subjects such as Trade, Business, and Commercial; Legal, Governmental, Public Administration, and Military
  • Profiles over 85 million companies, 1,000 industries, and 100 million key people
  • Assess the status of an industry and find competitors
  • Cannot download records, view and print only
  • Emailed records can only be opened in the library
  • Business-to-business database listing more than 3 million international & domestic companies
  • Search by country or state, with product or service
  • Search 1 million trade names & 5 million executive names
  • Directory of U.S. & Canadian publishers
  • Includes contact information plus descriptions of book publishers & distributors
  • Over 13,000 brokers, collectors, consumers, processors of recyclable materials
  • Manufacturers & distributors of recycled, reused, remanufactured and reprocessed products
  • Find U.S. & Canadian businesses by name or with custom search
  • Search 89 million U.S. and 12 million Canadian residential listings
  • Find new residents, dentists and physicians
  • Also includes consumer demographics
  • Global Supplier Directory by Thomas Global Register
  • Find industrial product and company information from around the world
  • Search suppliers by category & refine your search by country
  • U.S. & Canadian manufacturers, distributors & service providers
  • Search thousands of industrial product catalogs
  • Search millions of 2D/3D CAD drawings from leading manufacturers
Back to top
Business Directories - International
  • Nearly 850,000 parent and subsidiary businesses worldwide
  • In-depth details on directors and executives
  • Includes corporate linkage and company profiles
  • 14 million public and private U.S. companies
  • 7 million international companies in 200 countries
  • Search by company name or select criteria and build a custom list
  • Includes executive biographies
  • Find trade leads.
  • Research export guidelines, licenses, codes, etc.
  • Profiles over 85 million companies, 1,000 industries, and 100 million key people
  • Assess the status of an industry and find competitors
  • Cannot download records, view and print only
  • Emailed records can only be opened in the library
  • Business-to-business database listing more than 3 million international & domestic companies
  • Search by country or state, with product or service
  • Search 1 million trade names & 5 million executive names
  • Global Supplier Directory by Thomas Global Register
  • Find industrial product and company information from around the world
  • Search suppliers by category & refine your search by country
Back to top
Company Research
  • View current and historical annual reports
  • Search for reports by company name or symbol
  • More than 8,000 reports available
Categories: Company Research
  • Full text articles from more than 1,300 business journals
  • Access over 2200 market research reports
  • Thousands of company & industry profiles
  • Country economic reports
  • Nearly 850,000 parent and subsidiary businesses worldwide
  • In-depth details on directors and executives
  • Includes corporate linkage and company profiles
  • Find sales leads, evaluate local markets, learn about your customers, and find businesses and people by name
  • Build and export custom lists based on geography or business/household types
  • Research population, housing, economic, and geographic Census data
  • Create a custom demographic market report with your own customer data
  • Profiles over 85 million companies, 1,000 industries, and 100 million key people
  • Assess the status of an industry and find competitors
  • Cannot download records, view and print only
  • Emailed records can only be opened in the library
  • Business-to-business database listing more than 3 million international & domestic companies
  • Search by country or state, with product or service
  • Search 1 million trade names & 5 million executive names
  • Historical information on international publicly traded companies
  • Company annual reports back to 1900 and key industry ratios to 1979
  • D&B Million Dollar Directory, providing information on public and private U.S. companies, back to 1959
  • Moody's/Mergent Corporate & Municipal Manuals from early 1900s and Hoover's Handbooks for previous 2 years
  • Detailed information on international publicly traded companies
  • Basic information on private international companies
  • Search by country, industry group, and international exchange
  • Formally known as Moody's
  • Reports based on NY Stock Exchange, American Stock Exchange and NASDAQ stocks
  • Financial information with Morningstar rating on thousands of mutual funds
  • Up-to-date information on exchange-traded funds, returns, reports and ratings
  • Find new businesses & incorporations in the Chicagoland area
  • Search Illinois bankruptcies & foreclosures
  • Find public records for individuals, businesses, and properties
  • Find U.S. & Canadian businesses by name or with custom search
  • Search 89 million U.S. and 12 million Canadian residential listings
  • Find new residents, dentists and physicians
  • Also includes consumer demographics
  • Easy access to Standard & Poor's premium content
  • Objective analysis to assist in making investment decisions
  • Instantly view reports and print
  • Investment management tool helps investors make informed decisions
  • Current and historical market and financial data
  • Exclusive ranking system for 1,700 actively traded US stocks
  • Financial Ratings Series Online
  • Financial strength ratings and financial planning tools
  • Covers banks, credit unions, insurers, mutual funds and stocks
Back to top
Demographics & Market Research
  • Population, housing, economic, and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau
  • Includes nearly one hundred surveys and censuses conducted every year
  • Download data tables and data files
  • For professionals who purchase consumer and opinion research services
  • Descriptions of marketing research services and facilities
  • Full text articles from more than 1,300 business journals
  • Access over 2200 market research reports
  • Thousands of company & industry profiles
  • Country economic reports
  • Find sales leads, evaluate local markets, learn about your customers, and find businesses and people by name
  • Build and export custom lists based on geography or business/household types
  • Research population, housing, economic, and geographic Census data
  • Create a custom demographic market report with your own customer data
  • Access to selected statistics collected by the Census Bureau through the American Community Survey
  • Find U.S. & Canadian businesses by name or with custom search
  • Search 89 million U.S. and 12 million Canadian residential listings
  • Find new residents, dentists and physicians
  • Also includes consumer demographics
Back to top
Industry Surveys and Research
  • Full text articles from more than 1,300 business journals
  • Access over 2200 market research reports
  • Thousands of company & industry profiles
  • Country economic reports
  • Industry profiles and forecasts with employment and earnings data
  • Find growth industries and employment trends
  • Profiles over 85 million companies, 1,000 industries, and 100 million key people
  • Assess the status of an industry and find competitors
  • Cannot download records, view and print only
  • Emailed records can only be opened in the library
  • Historical information on international publicly traded companies
  • Company annual reports back to 1900 and key industry ratios to 1979
  • D&B Million Dollar Directory, providing information on public and private U.S. companies, back to 1959
  • Moody's/Mergent Corporate & Municipal Manuals from early 1900s and Hoover's Handbooks for previous 2 years
  • Detailed information on international publicly traded companies
  • Basic information on private international companies
  • Search by country, industry group, and international exchange
  • Formally known as Moody's
  • Easy access to Standard & Poor's premium content
  • Objective analysis to assist in making investment decisions
  • Instantly view reports and print
  • Data about industries collected by federal government agencies.
  • Valuable information for developing a business plan, refining a business strategy, and managing a business
Back to top
Small Business
  • Actual business plans from North American entrepreneurs
  • Hundreds of plans from a variety of businesses
  • Business plan template included
  • Find trade leads.
  • Research export guidelines, licenses, codes, etc.
  • Free website with links to over 500 trade resources
  • Trade statistics and data for states, countries, industries and trade blocs
  • Includes export tutorials, online course modules and language tools
  • Simple legal forms for the layperson
  • Forms for wills & estates, bankruptcy, power of attorney, incorporation, real estate, etc.
  • Also includes small business checklists and employment letters
Back to top